Sportsmarketingguy's Blog

Is it just noise or does it connect and move the needle

Hello world!

Posted by sportsmarketingguy on January 22, 2009

And so it begins… I have been thinking about doing this for awhile now, but kept putting it off.  Call it my commitment to stick to a New Year’s Resolution or call it whatever satisfies you.  Thing is we are HERE.  There are a lot of good bloggers out there – http://joefavorito.com/ is one I like because he just gets it. Which leads me to what I do.

I have been in the sports marketing and communications industry for 13 years working at agencies – currently I am the VP of Consumer and Sports Marketing for Conover Tuttle Pace (www.ctpboston.com).  I currently or have worked for brands that I like to say have a “vested interest in sports” including adidas, DC Shoes, Gillette, MasterCard, Swatch and AT&T Wireless and for organizations including Boston Red Sox, World Wrestling Entertainment, Breeders’ Cup World Championships, Pop Warner, NASCAR, Arena Football League and the Atlantic 10 Conference. 

Sometimes it’s generating stories and other times it’s about developing and implementing a marketing platform that help’s to reinforce a client’s brand or creating a strategic partnership.

Through the years I’ve come across sports marketing related issues/stories that have been intriguing to me.  Sometimes it is related to work and other times it’s not.  Sometimes I scratch my head and wonder what were they thinking?  Sometimes it’s brilliant or cool.  I thought I’d share them and talk about them HERE.

2 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. Great start. I love the title of your post about Gatorade and hitting the G Spot. Look forward to staying tuned.

  2. Congrats on the blog. It’s going to be a fun ride, just remember never to put too much pressure on yourself with posting, it’s your muse, enjoy. Plus, I think a lot of people will find interest in what you have to say.

    I’ll be reading.

Leave a Reply

 
